Click to Print

Down by the Old Mill Stream

First a sawmill and then a restaurant, this building is now a charming home.

Guests at Carol and Roger Dean's house in Moretown, Vt., may be reminded of good food and good times since it used to be a popular local restaurant and bar.

Known as The Mill, the building had originally been built as a sawmill in 1949 but was later converted into a gathering place. It sat vacant for three years before the Deans bought it, complete with food in the fridge, a whole cabinet of restaurant silverware and even beer on tap.

The Deans were sold on living in the old mill/restaurant because of the beautiful views and ample space. Seating includes four restaurant booths overlooking the river, a 15-1/2 foot bar and two walk-in coolers. The coolers were pretty decrepit, so they removed them and replaced one with a cedar-lined walk-in closet. Contractor Johnny Egan spent two years helping the Deans convert the building.

Advertisement will not be printed